Review: Tangled by Emma Chase

TangledTangled (Tangled #1)
Emma Chase
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: August 2nd 2013
Format: ebook
Pages: 224
Purchase: Amazon, Barnes & Nobles

Drew Evans is a winner. Handsome and arrogant, he makes multimillion dollar business deals and seduces New York’s most beautiful women with just a smile. He has loyal friends and an indulgent family. So why has he been shuttered in his apartment for seven days, miserable and depressed?

He’ll tell you he has the flu.

But we all know that’s not really true.

Katherine Brooks is brilliant, beautiful and ambitious. She refuses to let anything – or anyone – derail her path to success. When Kate is hired as the new associate at Drew’s father’s investment banking firm, every aspect of the dashing playboy’s life is thrown into a tailspin. The professional competition she brings is unnerving, his attraction to her is distracting, his failure to entice her into his bed is exasperating.

Then, just when Drew is on the cusp of having everything he wants, his overblown confidence threatens to ruin it all. Will he be able untangle his feelings of lust and tenderness, frustration and fulfillment? Will he rise to the most important challenge of his life?

Can Drew Evans win at love?

Tangled is not your mother’s romance novel. It is an outrageous, passionate, witty narrative about a man who knows a lot about women…just not as much as he thinks he knows. As he tells his story, Drew learns the one thing he never wanted in life, is the only thing he can’t live without.

This is definitely one of those books that you just have to read in one sitting. I couldn’t put it down! I started reading this book last night, but didn’t get too far along since I had work really early in the morning. But throughout work today I kept reading snippets here and there and I couldn’t stop thinking about Drew! I’d heard about Tangled months ago and I’d read the synopsis. It looked good and most reviews were 4 and 5 stars, but I still hadn’t picked it up. Then the 2013 Goodreads Awards started and Tangled was one of the nominations–and it actually won for the Debut Goodreads Author award. I was surprised to say the least (I was surprised at a lot of the nominations for this year), but it was a good surprised. I remember thinking to myself when I saw the winners, Now I have to read Tangled. And I’m so glad I did!!!

Let me start by saying this: Tangled is not your typical love story. Not only in the format, but in the storyline as well. First off, Drew is the narrator and throughout the whole book he’s addressing us readers. It took a little getting used to, but once I got the hang of it I enjoyed it. Drew Evans is the poster boy for the rich, arrogant player. He’s got the looks, the money, the great job, fantastic family, apartment, car–you name it. He sees something he wants and he takes it–no questions asked. Drew doesn’t do relationships. He doesn’t do dates. He doesn’t even do fuck-buddies. Drew’s all about the one-night stands and instant gratification. He’s upfront about it, at least (which he repeatedly lets us know), and he doesn’t plan to sway from his way of life for anybody. He’s not looking for Mrs. Right, only Ms. Right Now.

Enter Katherine Brooks. She’s beautiful, intelligent, hardworking, ambitious–and Drew wants her. Bad. But she’s his new coworker and he doesn’t do messy. And having a one-night stand with your new coworker just screams “messy.” So he decides to keep it in his pants, while still making sexual innuendoes and flirting to the death. What do expect? Drew is a charmer. He even lets us know in detail how charming he can be. However, as Kate and Drew spend more and more time working together, he starts realizing what an amazing woman Kate is–while still getting a massive hard-on in her presence (or even just thinking about her). As time goes on, he starts to respect and–surprise, surprise!–like her. Scary isn’t? At least for Drew it is. All of a sudden, Kate is no longer a future notch on his bed-post–she starting to become the real deal. I’ve already mentioned Kate’s focused. But she’s also witty and knows how to speak her mind. She’s a great business woman, but she’s an even greater woman. She doesn’t take any of Drew’s bullshit and she knows how to dish out some of her own! But most importantly, Kate is a woman that speaks for herself, knows what she wants, and will do almost anything to achieve it. See a pattern here? Drew Evans has met his match in Katherine Brooks. And it was about damn time!

It isn’t until the second half of the book that Drew’s and Kate’s relationship become sexual. They’ve shared a few very scorchingly hot kisses here and there (phew! *fanning myself*), but the actual sex scenes don’t happen until later. Let me tell you: they are smoking HOTT!!! I can’t say it enough! So I’ll say it in Spanish: muy caliente! I can’t even name the number of time I was blushing my cheeks off! Even before the sexy parts! This whole book just screams sex appeal. And with a narrator like Drew, you can’t expect anything less. Still, as amazingly hot as their sex life was, their relationship was much more. They definitely don’t go the traditional way. They don’t even really date in the book. But the respect and admiration Drew gains for Kate from working together goes a long way. There are only a few women Drew respects–and most of them are family. Little by little, she becomes more than what he ever expected, so when presented with the chance to make her his, Drew does not hesitate.

The secondary characters are truly memorable. Matthew and Dee’s story is told in Tamed and I can’t wait to read it. But what we do get from them in this book is priceless. Kate’s best friend, Dee, is pretty much a psychopath, and I don’t know how Emma Chase did it, but she just made Dee that much more endearing. Matthew’s the boy next door and Alexandra is the terrifying, but loving older sister, who let’s face it, is alway right. However, my favorite secondary character was Mackenzie, Drew’s niece. I loved the scenes with Mackenzie in them! She was truly adorable! The things that came out of her mouth had me dying of laughter! I just loved loved loved her!

My favorite thing about Tangled was that even when Drew apologizes for royally screwing up, Kate doesn’t forgive him. I know, it’s weird that I liked that so much. But how many times have I read a story where the guy gets down on his knees begging for forgiveness and the girl says yes, just like that? Countless of times! And while the prospect of having a guy on his knees is satisfying, it’s not enough for Kate. No, she makes Drew work for it. Bad. It’s not just enough for Drew to tells Kate that he loves her–which she doesn’t believe–he has to show her as well. Of course, on the outside, Kate wants nothing to do with him after what he does. But on the inside, she knows that she loves him back, but is just terrified of being played again. So she keeps her emotions in check (other than some lovely hate spews at Drew) to protect her heart. What can I say, I’m a sucker for strong, independent women. It was a breath of fresh air and I thoroughly enjoyed watching Drew work for her. In the end, Drew’s big romantic gesture (and not the obnoxious ones) is what win’s back Kate’s heart. And they live happily ever after…. until  their story picks up in Twisted, that is.

I honestly wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did. I was expecting the typical contemporary novel, but what I got what much better. Being inside Drew’s head was definitely a treat. I loved seeing the change he goes through and how differently he thinks by the end of the book. Bye-bye, player! Hello, sucker! Just kidding. The man Drew becomes is one that is not only gorgeous on the outside, but on the inside as well. I can’t wait to read the rest of their story through Kate’s eyes in Twisted! I’m sure I’ll love is just as much! Also, make sure to check out Holy Frigging Matrimony, a Tangled short story told in Drew’s POV!

4.5/5 Stars

5309978

add-to-goodreads

Leave a Reply

