Review and Excerpt: Needing Her by Molly McAdams

17824639Needing Her
Molly McAdams
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: December 23rd 2013
Format: ebook
Pages: 336
Purchase: Amazon, Barnes & Nobles

She’s the Girl Next Door

Maci Price isn’t really into relationships. Having four very protective older brothers has always made having a boyfriend very difficult, anyway. But her friend is set on finding her the perfect guy – and thinks the mysterious Connor Green is the perfect pick.

He’s Her Brother’s Best Friend

Connor Green is trying to find himself again. He loved then lost and it’s time for him to pick up the pieces. His brooding is making his friends crazy, but, Maci Price, who has grown up into a gorgeous and incredibly sexy woman, is about to break the spell.

They’re Made for Each Other

When Maci starts up old pranks to get Connor out of his slump, an all out war leads to a night that will break all their rules, and a relationship they must keep hidden. Together they’re electric. Apart they’re safe. And soon they’ll find they’re exactly what the other needs.

I’ve said this before, but there’s just something about a story involving a girl and her brother’s best friend (or vice versa) that I absolutely love! So much angst and pent-up sexual tension! And Maci and Connor definitely don’t disappoint! I have to admit: the first book I ever read by Molly McAdams was Taking Chances–and it BROKE MY HEART!!! I was left devastated and it was one of those utterly bittersweet reads. To be honest, I was scared to read anything else by  McAdams after reading Taking Chances. Confession time: I haven’t read Stealing Harper (Chase’s novella) nor From Ashes; I don’t know if I ever will. Despite all that, I’d enjoyed McAdam’s writing and when I heard she was releasing Forgiving Lies, I was happy! The synopsis sounded different and from other reviews I’d read, there was no heartbreaking ending. I picked it up and I really liked it! So after reading Needing Her‘s synopsis, and deciding that my heart wouldn’t be left a puddle of goo, I started to anticipate it’s release date. And then December 23rd came around and I read Needing Her and now here I am.

Our main characters, Connor and Maci have known each other for years now. Connor is best friends with Maci’s twin brothers since they were kids. They’ve been in each other’s lives for years, and as adults, they’re neighbors. But their relationship hasn’t gone past that–even though Maci secretly wishes it would. Connor’s got his own demons, but he’s still a great guy, and Maci–she’s a tough girl; growing up with four overprotective brothers does that to a girl. Nevertheless, this unlikeliest of pairs make a great couple. Like I said, Connor has his demons (I didn’t even realize Connor appeared in From Ashes, until much later in the book) and for the past six months he’s been walking around like a zombie, going from task to task in a constant state of numbness. Even though Connor has known Maci for years–and they’re neighbors–they don’t have much of a relationship, other than the occasional prank here and there. Yet, it’s the last girl he ever thought of that starts shedding some light into the bleak state Connor’s been in.

Maci’s had a crush on Connor since they were young, but she’s never done anything about it. He is, after all, her brothers’ best friend. And if her brothers knew she had even an inkling of a crush toward Connor, they’d lose their shit. When I say she has overprotective brothers, I’m not exaggerating–especially the twins. They’re always hounding Maci and Connor about her having a boyfriend or a guy over. I have two older brothers, but they’re nothing like Maci’s. Still, she’s secretly always lusted after Connor, but she’s seen the change in him–and like the true badass that she is, she confronts him. That’s when their relationship really starts to grow and change. Before, Connor only looked and treated her like his best friends’ little sister. But little by little he starts realizing that there’s more to Maci than she lets on.

Behind this tough exterior is a sensitive girl who has the power to bring him back to the land of the living. I have to admit, Connor’s abrupt change in attitude toward Maci was kind of sudden. I felt like there could have been a little bit more of a built up, but then again, Needing Her is a novella, not a full length novel. Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading about their evolving relationship. Connor is terrified of letting Maci in and of telling her about his childhood, and believe it or not, Maci is terrified of losing him. More than the fear of losing Connor, is the fear that she’s not good enough–for him nor for anyone. Her ex-boyfriend (if you could even call him that) toyed with her self-confidence and even her brothers had a hand in her self-esteem issues. So while it may not seem like it, Maci has her insecurities, and the knowledge that Connor is hiding something only fuels those insecurities.

Despite their differences, I loved reading about Connor and Maci. The hardass detective with the seemingly childish girl fit together so well; they complemented each other in the best possible ways. Needing Her is definitely a novella I’d recommend to anyone. Their relationship is hot, but most importantly is their devotion to each other.

4.5/5 Stars

add-to-goodreads

Check out the excerpt below!

3 thoughts on “Review and Excerpt: Needing Her by Molly McAdams

  1. This sounds like a great read, but I don’t fancy trying to get Connor’s back story from her other trilogy – like you I’m strictly a happy endings girl! But if you managed without… 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this one honey. I’ll keep it in mind!

Leave a Reply

